“I want those earrings.”

“Pardon me?” I said.

“Those ones, the ones you’re wearing.”

At first I thought he was joking but the man standing in my booth at the show this past weekend was serious. He and his adult son had looked at all the earrings on my table and then his eyes settled on the ones I was wearing.

“Did you make those?” he asked.

“Yes,” I said. “They’re my favourite pair.”

“Well they’re the ones I want.”  He was buying a present for a woman in his life and those were the earrings he wanted.

“Sorry,” I replied. “They’re not for sale.”

He looked around again. “Well, what if I bought these as well?” He picked out a pair. “Sorry,” I said for the second time. “Not for sale.”

He continued looking. “I’d also like to buy these too.” He added a second pair to his purchase. He said it all with an easy manner and a big smile on his face.

How could I say no? “Okay!” I laughed at his persistence. I brought out my pliers, removed the clips from the earrings and put on new hooks. I wrapped each pair, he paid me and the deal was done.

He and his son walked away with 3 pairs of earrings and I made a sale I won’t soon forget.

The earrings really were my favourite. Luckily I can make another set. While I’m at it maybe I’ll make 2 pairs. Who knows? Maybe someone at my next show will want to buy them right off my ears. ;-)

