Sometimes, well, sometimes a good idea really ain’t.

Last year I found a small bag of brightly coloured beads in the back of my drawer. They’d been there so long I forgot where they’d come from. I thought they’d make a great bracelet. So that’s what I did. Added a handmade red clasp. Put it up for sale. Nada. Nope. No one expressed interest in it.

And I had to agree. I wasn’t that keen on it either. It wasn’t a bad piece, it just wasn’t a great piece. For one thing, the wire clasp wasn’t as strong as it could have been. To my eye (and maybe to others) it didn’t look substantial enough for the design.

A few weeks ago I was about to take it apart when I had an aha! moment — what if I turned it into a necklace?

I added some extra chain and a swivel lobster clasp. Much better. Put it up for sale at our local farmers’ market.

 

A woman came by, admired my work, looked at the necklace and said, “I bet that would look good against black.”

“Let’s see,” I said, placing it on one of my black displays. It looked great. I couldn’t believe the difference.

I thanked her for the idea. She wandered off to other booths. I made a note to photograph the piece on a black display when I got home. But I didn’t have time.

When I looked up a few moments later, the woman was back. “I want to buy that necklace.” She smiled. I smiled. The piece was paid for, wrapped up and the deal was done. Happy times. :-)

 

