Beau Dangles

Handcrafted Jewelry — Designed to be Different

Bead Weaver Gets Strung Out

2 Comments

Well, I finally done it. I strung my first necklace. Don’t know what the holdup was. Well, yes I do. I started beading as an off-loom weaver. Simple enough. Thread. Needles. Scissors. Beads. Somehow bead stringing seemed like a whole lot more work.

The wire. Well, now, just what kind of wire? There’s 7-strand and 49-strand and a bunch in between. There’s wire that kinks and wire that doesn’t. There’s different sizes. Then you need crimp beads and clam shells and crimping pliers and yada yada yada.

In other words, it was just simpler to keep on keeping on with the bead weaving. Then I made a mistake. I bought some lovely pale green stones. Smooth and cool and oh, so nice to fondle. I did buy some good wire and to my surprise I discovered some crimp beads in my bead stash. There was nothing holding me back. Except inertia.

Then I met Dwyn. Our paths crossed in cyberspace when she posted an item about my blog on beadfx. I wandered around her website and her blog and was enthralled with the beautiful pieces she was creating. Talk about inspiration.

I made the plunge. A few days ago I pulled out the stones and the wire and a lovely clasp and began to play. I tried several combinations and let each variation sit on the kitchen counter for a day or so while I pondered it.

In the meantime, I found a pair of small glass apples that I’d bought a few years ago. I was hesitant to use them because they seemed quite fragile. When one bounced off the table onto the floor and suffered no injury I figured it was safe to play with them too.

After the pondering and the playing, this is the result. Thanks, Dwyn!

Dwyn's Inspiration

Dwyn’s Inspiration

Author: Sally

Beads? What can I say — they snuck up on me when I wasn't looking. Now I'm hooked.

2 thoughts on “Bead Weaver Gets Strung Out

  1. You know, I felt exactly the opposite. Stringing beads came naturally and the design element seems to all take place subconsciously, or perhaps in the right hemisphere of the brain. The stones themselves are the inspiration, in the main, and the toughest thing about it was learning to do a neat wrapped loop, or a secure crimp. (still working on both, but getting there)

    On the other hand, bead weaving with needle and thread makes me insane! I’ve done a few simple crystal bracelets as gifts for my office secretaries, and made a couple attempts at basic peyote stitch. Not pretty. Then again, I could never either knit or crochet competently, either.

    I love your designs, though, and envy you the patience to see them through. They are SO intricate and so feminine.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog as well. I’m still on Cloud 9, even if my arthritis is acting up. Gallery sales are where I seem to do my best. My one attempt at an art show was a total bomb – awful booth design, too much clutter, and a rule violater who was re-selling stuff imported from Hong Kong rather than his own handmade work was no more than 20 feet away from us, and undercutting us consistently by 20%. I made one sale all day – a $5 cell phone charm. I’m still too humiliated to try again. Maybe in a few years, when I can afford to hire someone to help me design my booth…

    Wish you luck!

    Cori

    • Cori … ain’t it interesting that where one beader finds fascination another meets frustration. I really enjoy bead weaving … it’s like a runner’s high I guess. When I’m in the beading “zone” time disappears as do life’s distractions.

      I can’t say that ever happened with my initial attempts at stringing … the projects never got finished because, well, they just never did. I couldn’t connect to them on any level. Perhaps the wrong stones, the wrong design, the wrong me … but now after doing this piece I’m playing with some other designs. Who knows? It might become habit forming.

      I also appreciated your comments about gallery sales. I’ve been afraid to approach galleries … somehow doing an art show or local market seems easier than dealing one-on-one with an owner. That said a local gallery owner did pick my beadwork to feature in her store for July & August as part of ArtWalk. It’s a beautiful shop and I’m delighted.

      So thanks for sharing your gallery experiences, Cori … I’m going to approach some other stores. Cloud 9 sounds like a wonderful place to be.

      Sally

Leave a Reply

