Beau Dangles

Handcrafted Jewelry — Designed to be Different

How Long Did It Take?

6 Comments

How long did it take you to make that necklace?

That’s a question I’m often asked. And one I’m often at a loss to answer.

Take this piece, for example.  I found the carnelian beads and the large focal bead about three years ago in Arizona. Didn’t know what I would do with them but I loved the smooth feel and the deep rich colour.

Forward a year. I kept bringing out the beads, trying this, trying that, but nothing appealed to me. Skip ahead another year. Aha! Some gorgeous dyed freshwater pearls caught my eye in a bead store and I brought them home.

Late last summer I made wrapped loops on several of the pearls, then strung them and the carnelian beads on 20 gauge wire. Lookin’ good. Now what? I tried several ideas but got stuck. Again.

Now we’re back in real time, early September of this year. I had a big show coming up and I wanted a stand-out piece. I pulled out some gold chain and arranged it around the centrepiece. Whoo-hoo! I’d finally found the design I was looking for.

The design and colour also appealed to a young woman at the show. She approached me early in the evening and asked about the piece, wondering what story lay behind it. I explained how it came to be. She thanked me and walked away. Over the next few hours I saw her walk by several times but she didn’t stop. Others expressed interest but the necklace remained unsold.

Toward the end of the evening the young woman who had asked about the backstory returned. Within moments she bought the necklace. I was delighted it was going to someone who was obviously enthralled with her purchase.

So, how long did it take me to make this piece?

It took as long as it took. 😉

Author: Sally

Beads? What can I say — they snuck up on me when I wasn't looking. Now I'm hooked.

6 thoughts on “How Long Did It Take?

  1. I like how clear you make it – beading and making jewellery is way more organic if you’re making it up as you go along! It’s a beautiful piece and I’m glad you sold it in the end.

  2. I can totally relate to the question “How long did it take?”. Most of my jewelry is created the same way. I buy a stone or beads and put it aside until I get an idea. Sometimes I’ll even create a wire worked pendant and put it away indefinitely. Eventually, I find it again with either new enthusiasm and inspiration, new beads, or a new skill. That could take a while:)

  3. That’s a really nice necklace with a great focal bead. I take a long time to put a perfect piece together. But the wait is worth it! Right?

Leave a Reply

