Beau Dangles

Handcrafted Jewelry — Designed to be Different

Pink Swirl Earrings

Wire Swirls

9 Comments

I’m no Wire Whisperer.

I’ve made a few pieces with wire over the years, but wrangling with it was hit and miss and before long I’d find myself returning to beads, my first love.

Maybe it’s all the rainy weather these past few months (and watching the garden turn into a rice paddy) but I dug out several spools of wire, some tools and set out to see what I might see.

Winding wire is always an easy place to start (it makes me feel like I’m actually doing something). Next I wondered how I might add some beads. Okay, maybe just one. Hmmm. What would that look like as an earring?

Not bad. I kinda like it.

Pink Swirl Earrings

My work surface always looks like a toddler’s playpen. Stuff everywhere. Sometimes this is a good thing. I laid one earring swirl down beside a coil of cotton cord. Shazam! Another idea. What would this look like as a necklace?

One swirl didn’t quite seem enough. Three seemed too much. Two, now that, as Goldilocks might say, is just right.

Pink Swirl - Necklace

P.S. The earrings sold at the Bergen Farmers’ Market yesterday. Hey, this is fun! ;-)

Author: Sally

Beads? What can I say — they snuck up on me when I wasn't looking. Now I'm hooked.

9 thoughts on “Wire Swirls

  1. Elegant designs, Sally… I think Goldilocks might have made a good designer; after all, it is as much about what we choose to leave out, isn’t it?

  2. You never know what designs might spring up when you’re just playing with wire, sort of like doodling. Nice, pretty, contemporary, clean earrings and necklace design!

  3. now those are gorgeous. glad one of us kept up the wire wrapping. maybe I will be inspired …you are always an inspiration.

  4. Reblogged this on mellissa's space and commented:
    I made swirl necklace!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers